Search

Local Changes in Minimum Wage Laws Effective July 1, 2017

By Hoge Fenton | 07.12.2017 | Firm Post

Local Changes in Minimum Wage Laws Effective July 1, 2017

Minimum Wage
Several cities in California have local minimum wage ordinances with increases going into effect on July 1, 2017:

  • Emeryville:
    • $15.20/hour for large businesses (56 or more employees).
    • $14/hour for small businesses (55 or fewer employees).
  • Los Angeles:
    • $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
    • $10.50/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Unincorporated areas in Los Angeles County:
    • $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
    • $10.50/ hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Malibu:
    • $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
    • $10.50/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Milpitas:
    • $11.00/hour.
  • Pasadena:
    • $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
    • $10.50/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • San Francisco:
    • $14/hour.
  • San Jose:
    • $12/hour.
  • San Leandro:
    • $12/hour.
  • Santa Monica:
    • $12/hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
    • $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

As a reminder, if employees work in (including telecommute from) a city that requires a higher minimum wage than the state, the employer must follow both the state’s and the city’s wage requirements for those employees.

California’s state-wide minimum wage is currently $10.50 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees, and $10.00 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees. On January 1, 2018, the state-wide minimum wage will increase to $11.00 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees, and $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

Other Local Ordinances

The following local ordinances will also go into effect on July 1, 2017:

  • San Francisco:
    • The SF Paid Parental Leave Ordinance, which requires employers to supplement compensation for SF employees who receive Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits through the state to bond with a new child, will now apply to employers with 35 or more employees.
  • Los Angeles:
    • LA’s Paid Sick Leave ordinance, which requires employers to provide LA employees with twice the number of annual sick days than required under state law, will now apply to employers with 25 or fewer employees.
    • LA’s Fair Chance Initiative, a “ban the box” law that limits an employer’s ability to inquire into an applicant’s criminal history, will now begin imposing penalties and fines to employers.

If you have any questions about this or any other employment law issue, Hoge Fenton’s Employment Law Team is here to help.

The Fine Print.
This article is provided as an educational service by Hoge Fenton for clients and friends of the firm. This communique is an overview only, and should not be construed as legal advice or advice to take any specific action. Please be sure to consult a knowledgeable professional with assistance with your particular legal issue.

Mackrell International California Minority Counsel Program 2016 Top Ranked Law Firms Bay Area Green Business